Once again we celebrate the Classical Summer Music Festival Season by featuring performances from summer festivals throughout Colorado and the West all summer long.

Colorado Public Radio heads back to the Roaring Fork Valley to bring you the sounds of the Aspen Music Festival!  Monika Vischer will be broadcasting her show from the festival July 28th through the 31st.  We top off our visit with a live broadcast from the Benedict Music Tent on Sunday the 31st at 4pm featuring Music Director Designate Robert Spano conducting Mahler's 5th Symphony and Barber's Violin Concerto featuring Robert McDuffie. 

About Colorado Public Radio's Summerfest.

Colorado is home to more classical music summer festivals than nearly any other state.  From Boulder to Steamboat, Aspen and Vail - our state is filled with some of the most glorious sounds created by world class musicians who call Colorado home in the summer. While it would be great to be able to go and see all of this wonderful music, it's just not possible. So Colorado Public Radio is bringing it to you! Music comes alive on Colorado Public Radio this summer with "SummerFest!"

This year we're including a new program on our air Saturdays and Sundays at 4pm, America's Music Festivals hosted by Marin Alsop.

And if you can attend any live performances this summer, click here for the Classical Calendar and here are links to some of Colorado and the West's finest summer music festivals.

Sounds of Lyons Music Festival - http://soundsoflyons.wordpress.com/

Friday-Sunday, June 3-5

 

Colorado College Summer Music Festival - http://www.coloradocollege.edu/summerprograms/summerfestivalof thearts

Monday June 6 – Sunday June 26

 

Rocky Ridge Music Center/Music in the Mountains Series - http://www.rockyridge.org/concerts11/C_concerts.htm

Sunday June 12 – Sunday August 21

 

NRO – National Repertory Orchestra - http://nromusic.com

Saturday June 18 – Friday August 5

 

New World Music Festival - http://www.newworldmusicfestival.org

Monday June 20 – Sunday June 26

 

Colorado Music Festival - http://www.coloradomusicfest.org/default.asp

Saturday June 25 – Friday August 5

 

Central City Opera - http://www.centralcityopera.org

Saturday June 25 – Sunday August 7

 

Bravo Vail Valley Music Festival - http://www.vailmusicfestival.org

Sunday June 26 – Wednesday August 3

 

Aspen Music Festival - http://aspenmusicfestival.com

Wednesday June 29 – Sunday August 21

 

Crested Butte Music Festival - http://www.crestedbuttemusicfestival.com

Sunday July 3 – Friday August 12

 

Strings Music Festival - http://www.stringsmusicfestival.com

Wednesday July 6 – Saturday August 13

 

Music in the Mountains - http://www.musicinthemountains.com

Saturday July 9 – Sunday July 31

 

Breckenridge Music Festival - http://www.breckenridgemusicfestival.com

Sunday July 17 – Sunday August 14

 

Aspen-Salida Concerts - http://www.salidaaspenconcerts.org

Aspen Music Festival sends membes to perform in Salida; no dates yet, but mid-July through mid-August

 

Telluride Chamber Music Festival - http://www.telluridechambermusic.org

 

Music from Angel Fire—4 locations in northern New Mexico - http://www.musicfromangelfire.org

Friday August 19 – Sunday September 4

Concerts held in Angel Fire, Taos, Raton & Las Vegas, New Mexico

 

Moab Music Festival—Moab, Utah - http://www.moabmusicfest.org

Thursday September 1 – Monday September 12

 

Alpenglow Chamber Music Festival - http://www.alpenglowchambermusic.org/

Sunday September 11 – Friday September 16