Pianist Juho Pohjonen.

(Photo: Marco Borggreve)

Finnish pianist Juho Pohjonen plays the Aspen Music Festival Tuesday in a recital that will be broadcast live on CPR Classical. The recital, part of the SummerFest broadcast series,  starts at 7:30 p.m. and will include:

  • Grieg: Ballade in Form von Variationen uber eine norwegische Melodie
  • Brahms: Four Ballades
  • Chopin: Ballade No. 1 in G minor
  • Chopin: Ballade No. 2 in F major
  • Chopin: Ballade No. 3 in A-flat major
  • Chopin: Ballade No. 4 in F minor

Pohjonen has played frequently with the Atlanta Symphony, whose music director Robert Spano also serves as music director at Aspen Music Festival and School.

Pohjonen also performs in the Sibelius Piano Trio. Watch the trio perform "Lovisa" by Jean Sibelius: 

The Sibelius Piano Trio performs the first movement of the 'Lovisa' Trio by Jean Sibelius. Petteri Iivonen, violin; Samuli Peltonen, cello; and Juho Pohjonen, piano.