Gov. John Hickenlooper signed into a law a bill that sets mandatory fines for people convicted of animal fighting in Colorado.
Only two people in the state have been convicted of the crime during the past three years. But bill sponsors say the measure sends a message that animal fighting won't be condoned.
Animal fighting is already a felony in Colorado punishable by a $1,000 fine for a first offense, and $5,000 for a second offense. But levying those fines has been at the discretion of a judge. The new law makes those fines mandatory.
Hickenlooper signed the measure Wednesday.