Incumbents Who Lost Seats Tonight

November 5, 2014

Updated at 11:49 p.m. ET on Nov. 4.

We’ve compiled a list of the incumbent candidates in the House, Senate and governors races that lost seats tonight. We will update this list throughout the night as the calls come in. You can keep up with NPR’s live election coverage at and follow NPR News and NPR Politics on Twitter.

House Republican Incumbents Who Lost (1)

  • Steve Southerland (R-Fla.)

House Democratic Incumbents Who Lost (8)

  • Joe Garcia (D-Fla.)
  • Nick Rahall (D-W.Va.)
  • John Barrow (D-Ga.)
  • Bill Enyart (D-Ill.)
  • Dan Maffei (D-N.Y.)
  • Brad Schneider (D-Ill.)
  • Tim Bishop (D-N.Y.)
  • Carol Shea-Porter (D-N.H.)

Senate Republican Incumbents Who Lost

Senate Democratic Incumbents Who Lost (3)

  • Mark Pryor (D-Ark.)
  • Mark Udall (D-Colo.)
  • Kay Hagan (D-N.C.)

Governors Who Lost (2)

  • Tom Corbett (R-Pa.)
  • Pat Quinn (D-Ill.)
Copyright 2014 NPR. To see more, visit

You Care.

You are one of the CPR readers who wants to know what is really going on these days. We can help you keep up - The Lookout is a free, daily email newsletter with news and happenings from all over Colorado. Sign up here and we will see you in the morning!