Astros’ Dallas Keuchel and Cubs’ Jake Arrieta Win Cy Young Awards

· Nov. 19, 2015, 12:11 am

Updated 9:15 p.m. ET

The Houston Astros’ Dallas Keuchel and Chicago Cubs’ Jake Arrieta won the Cy Young Awards for best pitchers in Major League Baseball for 2015.

Keuchel received enough votes to squeak past second-place finisher David Price in the American League. Arrieta handily beat runner-up Zack Greinke in the voting for the National League.

Keuchel, who has been with the Astros for four seasons, led the American League in innings pitched with 232 and finished with a second-best earned run average of 2.48. He struck out 216 batters — good for fifth in the league.

In the National League, Arrieta finished second in innings pitched with 229 and posted a 1.77 ERA, second to Greinke, whose ERA was 1.66. Arrieta had a solid first half of the season, but he caught fire down the stretch, helping the Cubs to the playoffs for the first time since 2008. Here’s a stat that speaks for itself: In his last 15 starts, Arrieta posted a minuscule 0.75 ERA.

Here’s how the voting broke down, from the Baseball Writers Association of America.

American League

1. Dallas Keuchel, 186 points (22 first-place votes)

2. David Price, 143 points (8)

3. Sonny Gray, 82 points (1 second-place vote)

4. Chris Sale, 30 points (3 third-place votes)

5. Chris Archer, 29 points (10 fourth-place votes)

National League

1. Jake Arrieta, 169 points (17 first-place votes)

2. Zack Greinke, 147 points (10)

3. Clayton Kershaw, 101 points (3)

4. Gerrit Cole, 40 points (2 third-place votes)

5. Max Scherzer, 32 points (13 fourth-place votes

Copyright 2015 NPR. To see more, visit

You care.

You want to know what is really going on these days, especially in Colorado. We can help you keep up.  The Lookout is a free, daily email newsletter with news and happenings from all over Colorado. Sign up here and we will see you in the morning!