CPR News Receives 8 Awards for Journalistic Excellence

Colorado Matters team award
The award-winning 2014 "Colorado Matters" team (from left): Andrea Dukakis, Rachel Estabrook, Ryan Warner, Michael de Yoanna.

Explore the stories recognized this year:

  1. Colorado physician-assisted death bill - Michael de Yoanna - First Place, Large Newsrooms Interview (PRNDI)
  2. Dec. 3, 2014 "Colorado Matters" - Ryan Warner, Rachel Estabrook, Michael de Yoanna, Andrea Dukakis - Second Place, Large Newsroom News/Public Affairs Program (PRNDI)
  3. Voicebox: How auctioneers turn selling into an art form, and a sport - Chloe Veltman - First Place, Large Newsrooms Arts Feature (PRNDI)
  4. Lakeside Amusement Park, a timeless, antique attraction - Megan Verlee, with editors Kelley Griffin and Sadie Babits - Best Use of Sound (RTDNA)
  5. Why Race Matters in Classrooms: Teaching Colorado's students of color - Jenny Brundin, with editor Sadie Babits - Continuing Coverage (RTDNA)
  6. In Grand Junction, natural gas crash still reverberates through struggling economy - Ben Markus, with editor Sadie Babits - News Series (RTDNA)
  7. Colorado Matters at the Tattered: Discovering what makes us laugh - Ryan Warner and Elaine Grant - Best News Special of Public Affairs Program (CBA)
  8. A photographer chronicles dancers and homeless people - Corey Jones - Best Use of New Media (CBA)

Public Radio News Directors, Inc. (PRNDI) awarded the "Colorado Matters" team first place in the large newsroom interview category for a story about the Colorado physician-assisted death bill and second place in the large newsroom news/public affairs category for a December 2014 show about Denver real estate and the Colorado physician-assisted death bill. Former Arts Editor Chloe Veltman won first place in the large newsroom arts feature category for a piece on voices in auctioneering. The PRNDI awards highlight excellent public radio journalism in arts and feature categories, as well as multimedia, nationally edited and student work.

Additionally, the Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) honored CPR's efforts with three regional Edward R. Murrow Awards, recognizing Megan Verlee's story about Lakeside Amusement Park, Jenny Brundin's series on race in the classroom and Ben Markus' series on economic issues in Colorado. Edward R. Murrow Awards honor outstanding achievements in electronic journalism.