Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever

Photo: Irvin Coffee

Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever released the debut album, "Hope Downs," on the revered Sub Pop record label earlier this summer. The Australian quintet features three guitarists, which adds a richness to its uptempo indie rock music. The band wrapped up its recent session in the CPR Performance Studio with a melodic three-minute guitar jam. 

More from OpenAir Sessions: 

That performance took place before Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever's show at Denver's Larimer Lounge earlier this month. The members played four songs and spoke with Jeremy Petersen about the origin of the band's lengthy name, signing to Sub Pop and why Australian indie rock artists are getting more international attention.

Stream the session above.

Songs performed:

  • "An Air Conditioned Man"
  • "Talking Straight"
  • "Mainland"
  • "The French Press"