‹‹ all press releases

CPR Board announces leadership changes and five new members

Dr. S. Robert Contiguglia Elected to Chair the Board

CENTENNIAL, Colo. – August 9, 2012 – Colorado Public Radio's (CPR) board of directors named Dr. S. Robert Contiguglia as board chair. Newly-appointed directors Liane Clasen, Ron Cooper, Gary Ferrera, Karen Newman and Tania Zeigler, whose three-year terms started July 1, add leadership in the areas of business, media and non-profit management.

Contiguglia replaces Warren Olsen, who ended his tenure on the board after serving two terms as a director and chair of the board from 2010-2012. Current director Laura Perry Barton was named vice chair. Carolyn Daniels assumes the role of board secretary, a position previously held by Dean Salter, who also stepped down from the board after 13 years of service to CPR. Justin Borus will continue as board treasurer.

“It’s extremely rewarding to be part of a community-driven organization that so many people value and trust,” said Contiguglia. “Listeners are incredibly loyal and passionate about CPR's services and their support helps secure a strong future.”

Contiguglia is a retired nephrologist who has served on the board of numerous local, national and international non-profit organizations, including his most recent appointment as president of the United States Soccer Federation. He was appointed to the CPR’s board of directors in 2008 and served a term as chair of the Development Committee where he was instrumental in coming up with innovative ways to raise funds.

“Introducing new leadership to the board of directors is essential to CPR’s success at a time when the media landscape is experiencing dramatic change,” said Max Wycisk, president of Colorado Public Radio. “The new directors all provide expertise in a variety of key areas and we look forward to their contributions as we continue to serve Colorado as a regional news and music organization.”

Liane Clasen has served as a trustee on the board of several non-profit organizations associated with education and the arts, including Opera Colorado, Denver Academy, The Denver Film Society and The National Arts Centre Foundation. Her involvement has focused primarily on development, marketing and strategic planning. Prior to her community work, Clasen had a distinguished career in communications, serving as a senior executive for several major broadcasting and cable companies, including the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation where she was Director of Strategic Planning. Clasen holds a master’s degree from Carleton University.

Ron Cooper was the chief executive officer of Clear Channel Outdoor Americas from 2009-2012 and previously held positions as president and chief operating officer of Adelphia Communications, chief operating officer at AT&T Broadband and founder and president of RELERA, an information services company serving corporate customers. He also served as executive vice president of MediaOne, where he oversaw all broadband service operations. Cooper was a director on CPR’s governing board from 2006-2010 and has also held seats on the board of the CTAM Educational Foundation, The Cable Center and the Denver Art Museum. Cooper holds a bachelor’s degree from Wesleyan University.

Gary Ferrera has been the chief financial officer of National CineMedia, Inc., based in Centennial, since moving to Colorado in 2006. For over 20 years, he has held various positions in accounting and finance in both the U.S. and Europe. Ferrera received his MBA from the Kellogg School of Management at Northwestern University and holds a bachelor’s degree in accounting from Bentley University.

Karen Newman is professor of management for the Daniels College of Business at the University of Denver and also served as the Dean of the college from 2005-2007. Prior to that, Newman was the Dean of the Robins School of Business at the University of Richmond. She has been a faculty member at various institutions throughout her career, including Bucknell University, Case Western Reserve University and Georgetown University, where she was also Associate Dean of the McDonough School of Business. Newman has served on the boards of the Women’s Forum of Colorado, South Metro Denver Chamber of Commerce, Junior Achievement and United Way of Richmond, and holds a doctorate in behavioral sciences from the University of Chicago’s Graduate School of Business.

Tania Zeigler is a health care communications professional and currently works in the Colorado region office for Kaiser Permanente as director of member experience and customer engagement. Previously she led their corporate communications department, which included media and public relations, and member, employee and physician communications. She is a former reporter for the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and also worked as a health reporter in North Carolina.

Colorado Public Radio's Board of Directors:

Dr. Robert Contiguglia, Chair
Laura Perry Barton, Vice Chair
Carolyn Daniels, Secretary
Justin Borus, Treasurer
Christie Cadwell
John Carlen
Liane Clasen
Ron Cooper

Gary Ferrera
Michael Grace
Karen Newman
Melinda Quiat
Tania Zeigler
Max Wycisk, Ex-Officio

Colorado Public Radio is a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization that provides 24-hour, in-depth news and music to about 460,000 listeners each week (Source: Arbitron, 2011). More than 90 percent of CPR's funds come from the private support of listeners, businesses and foundations.

News: Denver 90.1 FM, Boulder 1490 AM, Pueblo 1230 AM, Vail 89.9 FM, Grand Junction 89.5 FM, Montrose / Craig / Parachute 88.3 FM, Gunnison 88.5 FM, Ouray 91.5 FM, Meeker / Rangely 91.1 FM, and online at www.cpr.org.

Classical: Denver 88.1 FM, Boulder 99.9 FM, Pueblo 91.9 FM, Colorado Springs 94.7 FM, Glenwood Springs 90.5 FM, Aspen 101.5 FM, Western Slope 103.3 FM, Dove Creek 88.7 FM, Gunnison 89.1 FM, Cortez 102.5 FM, Crystal River Valley / Old Snowmass 93.9 FM, Thomasville 93.7 FM, and online at www.cpr.org.

OpenAir: Denver 1340 AM. Online at www.openaircpr.org