New Law Will Make Colorado Schools Liable For Violence

June 3, 2015

Legislation to allow lawsuits against Colorado schools when there are shootings or other violence has been signed into law Wednesday by Gov. John Hickenlooper.

Lawsuits would be limited to $350,000 per victim or $900,000 per incident when there are serious injuries or deaths from violence and the school is accused of negligence.

With the law, Colorado will be among a few states that allow school lawsuits for cases of violence.

The measure is named for Claire Davis, who was killed at Arapahoe High School in 2013. She was shot by a fellow student who then killed himself.

Davis' parents have argued the school ignored signs that the shooter planned to kill fellow students.

Schools opposed the proposal, saying it would increase their insurance liability and not prevent violence.