17 Drought Counties Get Government Assistance

· Sep. 4, 2015, 11:05 pm

The federal government says 17 Colorado counties affected by drought are eligible for assistance after being designated natural disaster areas.

The Denver Post reports that the U.S. Department of Agriculture announced Friday the designation makes family-sized farm operators in those counties eligible for low-interest emergency loans from the Farm Service Agency. The counties designated as drought disaster areas are all on the Eastern Plains and southern Colorado. They include Baca, Bent, Cheyenne, El Paso, Kiowa, Lincoln, and Pueblo counties.

You care.

You want to know what is really going on these days, especially in Colorado. We can help you keep up.  The Lookout is a free, daily email newsletter with news and happenings from all over Colorado. Sign up here and we will see you in the morning!