Aspen Music Festival: A Recital by the Takács Quartet and Stephen Hough, piano



Harris Concert Hall, 960 N 3rd St., Aspen, CO 81611

Event Description

"Hear the Grammy-winning Takács Quartet joined by pianist and polymath Stephen Hough. The program begins with Haydn’s imitation of the rising sun in an ascending theme for the violin. Here is the composer at the top of his string quartet game, with the entire opus 76 “six pack” showing a new level of virtuosity and innovation. Stephen Hough dedicated his first quartet to the Takács as a companion piece to Ravel’s quartet and Dutilleux’s Ainsi la nuit. The form is one of six “meetings,” imaginary encounters in 1920s Paris with the composers known as Les Six."

HAYDN: String Quartet in B-flat major, Hob. III/78, op. 76, no. 4, “Sunrise”
STEPHEN HOUGH: String Quartet No. 1 “Les Six Rencontres”
DVORAK: Piano Quintet in A major, B. 155, op. 81

Event Contact

Aspen Music Festival and School


[email protected]