National Repertory Orchestra: Britten’s Storm and Tchaikovsky’s Strings



Riverwalk Center, 150 W Adams Ave, Breckenridge, CO 80424

Event Description

"Continuing with our theme for the season, the NRO performs Britten’s Four Sea Interludes, evocative orchestral vignettes that depict the changing moods and elements of the sea, conveying the atmospheric nuances of coastal life. Abel’s Global Warming reflects on the similarities between folk music of divergent, immigrant cultures, and celebrates these common threads. The program also includes one of the most popular and familiar string pieces, Tchaikovsky’s Serenade for Strings, a luminous and emotionally resonant composition that expresses a blend of romantic lyricism and classical elegance."

MICHAEL ABELS: Global Warming
TCHAIKOVSKY: Serenade for Strings in C major, Op. 48
BRITTEN: Four Sea Interludes, Op. 33a from Peter Grimes

Event Contact

National Repertory Orchestra