‹‹ all press releases

CPR News honored with eight awards for journalistic excellence

CENTENNIAL, Colo. July 2, 2015Colorado Public Radio’s news team was recognized with eight top awards by national and regional institutions for journalistic excellence, including three Public Radio News Directors Incorporated (PRNDI) Awards, three regional Edward R. Murrow Awards and two certificates of merit from the Colorado Broadcasters Association (CAB).

“These awards demonstrate the journalistic strength of the CPR newsroom and the diversity of the team’s storytelling – from education and economics to the use of new media across CPR’s expanded digital channels,” said CPR News Director Sadie Babits. “The awards also characterize the quality reporting that thousands rely on every day to gain a better understanding of the issues impacting Colorado.”

Two of the three PRNDI honors were awarded to the “Colorado Matters” team, which took first place in the large newsroom interview category for “Colorado physician-assisted death bill.” The daily show received second place in the large newsroom best news/public affairs category for a show that aired Dec. 3, 2014. It included conversations about Denver’s boom and bust real estate and the Colorado physician-assisted death bill. CPR News staff won first place in the large newsroom arts feature category for the sound-rich exploration of the human voice in “Voicebox: How auctioneers turn selling into an art form, and a sport.”

CPR reporters and editors also won a handful of regional Murrow awards, including General Assignment reporter Megan Verlee, whose story about the 106-year history of Lakeside Amusement Park won for best use of sound. Education reporter Jenny Brundin won for continuing coverage of the achievement gap between students of color and their peers with her story, “Why race matters in the classroom: teaching Colorado’s students of color.” General Assignment reporter Ben Markus won for a three-part series called “Colorado towns left out of the economic boom.”

The CPR News team received two certificates of merit from the CBA, recognizing “Colorado Matters” Host Ryan Warner in the best news special of public affairs category for an interview with authors of “The Humor Code.” Arts reporter Corey Jones also earned a certificate of merit for best use of new media for his story documenting exchanges between Wonderbound’s dancers and the homeless community, which included a video showcasing photographs of the event captured by Lena Preito.

The PRNDI awards highlight excellent public radio journalism in arts and feature categories as well as multimedia, nationally edited and student work. The Edward R. Murrow awards honor exceptional achievements in electronic journalism, and the Colorado Broadcasters Association awards showcase Colorado’s best broadcasters in over 50 categories.

You can learn more and listen to these award-winning stories. For real-time updates from Colorado Public Radio’s newsroom, follow CPR News on Facebook and Twitter.

Colorado Public Radio is a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization that enriches the Colorado community by providing news, information and music for people who want to be informed, enlightened and entertained. Roughly 95 percent of CPR's funds come from the private support of listeners, businesses and foundations.

News: Denver 90.1 FM, Boulder 1490 AM, Pueblo 1230 AM, Vail 89.9 FM, Grand Junction 89.5 FM, Montrose / Craig / Parachute 88.3 FM, Gunnison 89.9 FM, Ouray 91.5 FM, Meeker / Rangely 91.1 FM, and online at www.cprnews.org.

Classical: Denver 88.1 FM, Boulder 99.9 FM, Pueblo 91.9 FM, Colorado Springs 94.7 FM, Vail 89.1 FM, Glenwood Springs 90.5 FM, Aspen 101.5 FM, Western Slope 103.3 FM, Dove Creek 88.7 FM, Gunnison 89.1 FM, Cortez 102.5 FM, Crystal River Valley / Old Snowmass 93.9 FM, Thomasville 98.3 FM, Basalt 90.1 FM and online at www.cprclassical.org.

OpenAir: Denver 102.3 FM, 1340 AM and online at www.openaircpr.org.