Weekly Music News: Aphex Twin, Modest Mouse, Courtney Barnett, and more

Aphex Twin announces "Syro," first new album in 13 years

Acclaimed electronica producer Aphex Twin, the moniker of Richard D. James, has announced "Syro," the England-based musician's first new album since 2001's "Drukqs." It hits shelves on Sept. 23 via Warp. Prior to the official release, James released a new song from the record with the curious title "minipops 67 [120.2][source field mix]" via YouTube. Stream it above. [via Pitchfork]

photo: Courtney Barnett pressCourtney Barnett covers The Breeders

Australian wordsmith Courtney Barnett stopped into the AV Club studios for part of their "Undercover" series, in which notable musicians cover a song from a list curated by the publication's staff. Barnett and her band selected The Breeders' classic alt-rock tune "Cannonball," which the songwriter claimed as a big influence on her own work. Watch the video here.

Check out our recent studio session with Courtney Barnett.

photo: Pink Floyd Animals albumBuilding pictured on Pink Floyd's "Animals" album cover to be demolished

Battersea Power Station, the London building pictured on the cover of Pink Floyd's 1977 "Animals," is scheduled to be demolished soon. Malaysian developers intend to build luxury housing and retail offices in its place; however, the developers maintain the renovations will be "light," and that the iconic smokestacks displayed on the album cover will be rebuilt. [via Consequence of Sound]

Box sets and reissues forthcoming from Modest Mouse, Sleater-Kinney, Captain Beefheart

A number of reissue projects were announced this week:

  • Modest Mouse will re-release "This Is a Long Drive for Someone With Nothing to Think About" and "The Lonesome Crowded West," the longstanding indie band's first two proper full-lengths, on Oct. 28 and Nov. 4, respectively. The records will be put out on vinyl via frontman Isaac Brock's label Glacial Pace and Fat Possum and will include unreleased songs from the albums' recording sessions.
  • A Captain Beefheart box set spanning the avant-garde musician's early 1970s albums entitled "Sun Zoom Spark" will see release on Nov. 11. It will include albums "Lick My Decals Off, Baby," "The Spotlight Kid" and "Clear Spot" along with a disc of previously unreleased outtakes and rarities. [via Rolling Stone]
  • Sleater-Kinney's entire discography will be remastered and re-released on colored vinyl via the "Start Together" box set, out Oct. 21 on Sub Pop. In addition to including all seven of the Washington indie band's albums, "Start Together" will feature a hardcover book of previously unreleased photos of the group. Each album will also be made available individually on vinyl and CD. [via Pitchfork]