Pinchas Zukerman leads all-Mozart Colorado Symphony program

Listen Now
1min 40sec
Photo: Conductor/violinist Pinchas Zukerman
Pinchas Zukerman

Conductor and violinist Pinchas Zukerman leads the Colorado Symphony in an all-Mozart program this weekend.

Zukerman is the featured soloist on Mozart's Adagio in E major for Violin and Orchestra and Rondo in C major for Violin and Orchestra. Later, he’ll conduct the symphony and Colorado Symphony Chorus in “Exultate, Jubilate” and the program’s centerpiece, Mozart’s Requiem.

Click the audio above to hear Charley Samson on the creation and power of Mozart’s Requiem.

"The Mozart Requiem is a work that’s shrouded in mystery to this day," Colorado Symphony Senior Vice President of Program Innovation Anthony Pierce said when the program was announced earlier this year. "And it’s one that is going to highlight our chorus in a special way.”


The concerts start at 7:30 Friday and Saturday and 1 p.m. Sunday at Boettcher Concert Hall. Featured performers include soprano Elizabeth Futral, mezzo-soprano Sasha Cooke, tenor Isaiah Bell, baritone Kyle Ketelsen and Colorado Symphony Chorus Director Duain Wolfe.

Zukerman returns to Boettcher Hall on Nov. 14 for an "Inside the Score" concert offering in-depth explorations of violin music with conductor Scott O'Neil.