‹‹ all press releases

Colorado Public Radio Elects Three New Board of Directors Members and Eight New Community Advisory Board Members

Centennial, Colo. June 21, 2023 - Colorado Public Radio today welcomed three new members to its board of directors. The new members are Nelson Hioe, Deidre Johnson and Sarah Shrader. Their term began at the end of the board’s annual meeting today. 

“These new members are great additions to our board,” said Board Chair Brad Greenwald. “They each bring a wealth of professional and personal experience to CPR, and I’m thrilled to have them contribute to our efforts to realize CPR’s mission.”

Nelson Hioe is the co-founder of Raith Capital Partners, a real estate investment firm. Prior to forming Raith, he was a managing director at Rialto Capital Management, which he joined in 2009. While at Rialto, he was involved in the firm’s acquisitions effort for whole loan portfolios and securities. Prior to Rialto, Hioe worked at The Blackstone Group in the firm’s real estate private equity fund, focusing on real estate investments in several property types. Prior to Blackstone, he worked in affordable housing finance at The Community Builders and as a strategy consultant. He received a Bachelor of Arts degree from Williams College and an MBA from Harvard Business School, and is a trustee of the Museum of Contemporary Art Denver.

Deidre Johnson is the CEO and executive director of the Center for African American Health, a community-based organization dedicated to empowering the Black community to make informed health decisions. Johnson is an ASCEND Aspen Institute Colorado Children and Families Health and Human Services Fellow, a Transformative Leadership for Change Fellow, a Bonfils-Stanton Foundation Livingston Fellow, an Adjunct Professor in the University of Denver, University College Nonprofit Leadership Program and a member of CHIEF, a private membership network focused on connecting and supporting women executive leaders. A member of numerous boards and steering committees, Johnson has an extensive background in strategic planning, grant making, grants management, fundraising, program development, project management, strategic learning and systems evaluation. She holds a Bachelor’s Degree in English from Princeton University and an MBA from the Yale School of Management.

Sarah Shrader is the owner and co-founder of Bonsai Design, an aerial adventure course design/build firm based in Grand Junction, Colorado. She is also the founder and chair of the Outdoor Recreation Coalition of the Grand Valley (ORC), a group of businesses and organizations committed to economic development in the outdoor recreation industry in Western Colorado. She serves on the executive committee of the State of Colorado Outdoor Recreation Industry Office, the Colorado Forum and the School District 51 Foundation Board, where she is the current president. Shrader was the co-chair of the successful 2021 campaign to build a new $120-million Grand Junction High School. She was also a Colorado Governor’s Fellow in 2018-2019. Shrader recently designed and developed the Outdoor Recreation Industry Studies Bachelor of Science degree at Colorado Mesa University, where she serves as program director and faculty.

Diane Reeder, who most recently served as treasurer, has retired from the board. Rishi Hingoraney, Adrian Miller, Robert G. Moore, Jay Rolls and Andra Zeppelin were elected to a second term. For Fiscal Year 2024, Brad Greenwald remains the chair with Michelle Sobel as vice-chair, Rishi Hingoraney as treasurer and Lori Bergen as secretary. To learn more about CPR’s board of directors, click here.

CPR Community Advisory Board

The Community Advisory Board, a non-governing board that helps ensure CPR is meeting the educational and cultural needs of the communities served by the station, added eight new members: Wisdom Amouzou, Aja Black, Stephen Brackett, R. Alan Brooks, Gina Fernandez Gardner, Bryan Fleming, Caitlin Murray and River Wharton. Vanessa Barcus was elected to a second two-year term. Former chair Dennis Ryerson’s term has ended, and Brynmore Williams retired from the board. The new chair is Maria Giordano. Read bios for the Community Advisory Board members here.


About Colorado Public Radio

Colorado Public Radio is a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization delivering meaningful news, music, and cultural experiences to everyone in Colorado using the power of the human voice in all its forms. Roughly 95 percent of CPR’s funds come from the private support of listeners, businesses and foundations. For more information, visit www.cpr.org.

  • CPR News delivers in-depth, insightful and impartial news and information from around the world, across the nation and throughout Colorado, examining its relevance to our state and connecting it to our community.
  • CPR Classical takes listeners on an in-depth exploration of thoughtfully curated music – with an emphasis on Colorado’s classical community – providing context to a broad range of meaningful and compelling works from past to present.
  • Indie 102.3 takes listeners inside the world of new and independent music – exposing them to up-and-coming artists and highlighting Colorado’s local music scene.
  • Denverite is an online news source dedicated to Denver's curious and concerned.
  • KRCC is a public radio station in Colorado Springs, Colorado, serving Southern Colorado. KRCC is operated by Colorado Public Radio in partnership with Colorado College.