The Congress releases new covers EP nationally

April 16 marks the national release of a new EP by Colorado's own The Congress. "The Loft Tapes" includes seven covers of original songs by Marvin Gaye, Van Morrison, James Taylor, The Impressions and more.

The effort stems from live jam sessions during which members of The Congress would perform some of their favorite soul songs with other local musicians. After guitarist Scott Lane purchased a reel-to-reel tape recorder, the band decided to put it to use. The result: The Congress putting their own unique spin on some classic cuts. The album is available digitally and on vinyl.

Lane stopped by OpenAir recently to chat about the new album with Corey during Mile High Noon. Listen to the interview HERE

The guys will serve as guest clerks at Bart's Music Shack in Boulder for Record Store Day. The Congress also performs live in the Mile High City on May 25 for Denver Day of Rock.