Who Are The 3 Latest Colorado Supreme Court Nominees?

· May 16, 2018, 4:42 pm

The Supreme Court Nominating Commission selected three candidates to fill an open seat on the Colorado Supreme Court. The vacancy was created by Chief Justice Nancy E. Rice's retirement after 31 years on the bench.

The three candidates are:

Maria Berkenkotter, the former chief judge for the 20th Judicial District Court in Boulder. She retired from her post October of last year after 11 years working in the district. Berkenkotter graduated from the University of Denver Law School in 1987.

​Karen L. Brody, a judge serving Denver County in the 2nd Judicial District Court. Before her 2014 appointment to the district court, she was an attorney at the law firm of Lowe, Fell & Skogg. Brody also received her degree from University of Denver Law School.

Carlos A. Samour, the chief judge for the 18th Judicial District Court. Samour presided over the Aurora theater shooter James Holmes' trial. He was born in El Salvador and came to the U.S. in 1979 at age 13. Samour also attended the University of Denver Law School.

Gov. John Hickenlooper has 15 days from May 16 to interview and appoint a new justice. Hickenlooper has now chosen more than half of the Colorado Supreme Court’s seven current justices: Brian Boatright was seated in 2011, William Hood in 2014, Richard Gabriel in 2015 and Melissa Hart in 2017.

Any comments regarding the three nominees may be submitted to the governor via [email protected].

You care.

You want to know what is really going on these days, especially in Colorado. We can help you keep up.  The Lookout is a free, daily email newsletter with news and happenings from all over Colorado. Sign up here and we will see you in the morning!