El Paso County Included in Major Disaster Declaration; Federal Aid Available

El Paso is among the three additional counties added to the federal Major Disaster Declaration after last week’s devastating flooding.  That brings the total number of counties eligible for aid from the Federal Emergency Management Agency to seven.  

Colorado Springs residents affected by the recent heavy rains are encouraged to check their insurance first, then register with FEMA online, or by phone at 1-800-621-FEMA.

Renee Bafalis says individual assistance, including grants and low-interest loans, is available to help pay for costs not covered by insurance. 

Disaster survivor assistance teams are also in the area.  We have four that are over at the Disaster Assistance Center today and then through, I guess, next week when those centers are still open.  We also have four teams that will be out throughout the communities, speaking with residents that have been affected.

The Disaster Assistance Center is currently open at Cañon Elementary until 6 today, and again from 9 to 6 tomorrow. Officials are also reminding residents to be aware of potential scams related to recovery.

Colorado Springs Disaster Assistance Center FAQs and General Information