DU’s Joey LaLeggia is a finalist for Hobey Baker award

University of Denver's Joel LaLeggia is one of 10 finalists for the Hobey Baker award, college hockey's top honor for individual male players.

The winner will be announced on April 10, during the NCAA Frozen Four. LaLeggia has 13 goals and 25 assists in 34 games so far this season.

Only one DU athlete has won the award before, DU Magazine notes:

Previous DU student-athletes to have been nominated for the Hobey Baker Award include Ed Beers (1982), Dallas Gaume (1986), Dave Shields (1990), Wade Dubielewicz (2002), Matt Carle (2006), Marc Cheverie (2010) and Rhett Rakhshani (2010). Carle is the only Pioneer to have ever won the Hobey Baker Award.

DU (22-12-2) is currently the third-ranked team in the nation heading into post-season play.