Colorado Springs Mayoral Race Heads to Runoff; Other Election Results

· Apr. 8, 2015, 9:04 am

Former Attorney General John Suthers and former Colorado Springs mayor Mary Lou Makepeace are headed to a runoff election next month to be the city’s next mayor.  Colorado Springs voters yesterday gave Suthers 46% of the vote, while Makepeace came in with 24%.  Among the other leading candidates, Joel Miller received 16% of the vote, while Amy Lathen received 12%.  The runoff election is scheduled for May 19.

Colorado Springs City Councilor Merv Bennett retains his seat, garnering 15% of the vote in the race for three At-Large seats.  Tom Strand and Bill Murray claim the other two seats, with 13% of the vote and 12%, respectively.

In the race for the City Council District 2 seat, Larry Bagley defeated Kanda Calef with nearly 70% of the vote.

Ballot Issue 1 passed 53-47%.  Ballot Issue 2 is passing with less than a 300-vote margin.

55% of voters in District 4 say Councilor Helen Collins should not be recalled.

Voter turnout was about 39%.

The breakdown of the heavily contested races, in order of percentage of votes received, is as follows (rounded to the nearest percentage): (You can also click here to see the official report from the City Clerk's office.)


John Suthers — 46%Mary Lou Makepeace — 24%Joel Miller — 16%Amy Lathen — 12%Lawrence Martinez — 1%Tony Carpenter — 1%

City Council

Merv Bennett — 15%Tom Strand — 13%Bill Murray — 12%Jariah Walker — 11%Glenn Carlson — 9%Vickie Tonkins — 8%Longinos Gonzalez, Jr. — 6%Nicholas Lee — 6%Yolanda Avila — 5%Al Loma — 5%Joe Woyte — 5%Vanessa Bowie — 4%Jesse Brown, Jr. — 2%

You care!

Southern Colorado is changing a lot these days. We can help you keep up. Sign up for the KRCC Weekly Digest here and get the stories that matter to Southern Colorado, delivered straight to your inbox.