Southern Colorado’s Representatives On Impeachment

The U.S. House of Representatives voted Wednesday to impeach President Donald Trump in a vote that fell largely along party lines. Representatives from Colorado are no exception.

Southern Colorado's three representatives, all Republicans, voted against impeachment, saying the Democrats have been trying to impeach the president since he was elected. Scott Tipton, who represents the Western Slope but also portions of Southern Colorado, tweeted his address to the House:

"The theatrics, political posturing, have ensured that this body is not actually pursuing to perserve checks and balances," said Tipton. "Rather this process echoes the calls by some that refuse to accept the 2016 results."

In a statement, Republican Congressman Doug Lamborn of Colorado Springs said there was no obstruction of Congress, nor did the president abuse his power. Lamborn also said that he expects a fair trial in the Senate, led by Republican Mitch McConnell.

Congressman Ken Buck said Democrats have lowered the standards for impeachment.

The remaining members of Colorado's congressional delegation--Diana DeGette, Joe Neguse, Jason Crow and Ed Perlmutter--are all Democrats and voted in favor of impeachment.